Street Talk

Can anyone help me out please? I’m writing a book series aimed at 7-9 year-old readers. My problem is that I don’t know the current terms for phrases/words that were acceptable when I was a child (many moons ago). I’m aware that children are always inventing new ways of expressing themselves and I want my books to reflect that. A while back, ‘cool’  meant ‘good’ or ‘brilliant’, then ‘wicked’ took over, followed by ‘sick’ (I must confess I don’t get that one!)’  ‘Gosh’ and ‘my goodness’ are also defunct. What do 7, 8 and 9 year-olds say today for the same words, please??

Leave a Reply

